Course Project Scenario Sheet 1

Course Project Scenario Sheet 1

Introduction

The scenario described below will be used as a guide for various exercises and assignments throughout the rest of this course. Additional information will be provided, as required, during future units to help better define the situation and environment of the project. If questions arise or you have specific questions, do not hesitate to contact the professor. Remember, the project will take place throughout the course, so we will take steps to complete the project in each unit.

Company

Massive Solutions International (MSI) is a global company providing information technology solutions to a wide customer base.

Challenge

MSI’s current data center is located on the U.S. Gulf Coast, which is often plagued with catastrophic weather events. The company desires to implement a new state-of-the-art data center for its North American operations, capable of supporting strategic growth and expansion in an area with more stable weather patterns.

The Chief Information Officer (CIO) for MSI, Ms. Stephanie Jones, has been selected to lead this project. The Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Mr. Gerald O’Conner, would like to see the project completed within 18 months. The start date will be the first of next month. The company has allocated $6 million in funding and identified an 8,000 square foot facility in a weather-safe location. The corporate management team initially consists of people listed below (the project manager [PM] can add additional members as needed):
Position

CEO

Name

Mr. Gerald O’Connor

Phone

888-555-1234

E-mail

GO’Connor@MSI.com

VP Ops Ms. Sandra Murray 888-555-4321 SMurray@MSI.com
CFO Mr. Ira Moneybaggs 888-555-2314 IMoney@MSI.com
CIO Ms. Stephanie Jones 888-555-1122 SJones@MSI.com
Chief IT Engineer Mr. Kenneth Bolts 888-555-2345 Kbolts@MSI.com
Network Engineer Ms. Paulita Espinoza 888-555-6578 PEspinoza@MSI.com
Software

Engineer

Mr. Leroy Hawkins 888-555-8899 LHawkins@MSI.com
Applications Specialist Mr. Ibrahim Al-Sahiri 888-555-7465 IASahiri@MSI.com


Comments are closed.